Recordings of Sermons

We record the sermons every Sunday, but we need a volunteer to help in uploading them onto the website. It probably takes 15 or 20 minutes per month to edit the files and post them– do be in touch if you can volunteer to do this. Also get in touch if you listen to our recorded sermons, if we know people value this facility we will try to find a volunteer to do this!

The Sunday before Lent 2017
The Revd Russell Dewhurst
Sunday 26 February 2017
Readings: Exodus 24.12-18, 2 Peter 1.16-21, Matthew 17.1-9


A Sermon for Remembrance Sunday 2016
The Revd Russell Dewhurst
Sunday 13 November 2016

Fra Angelico’s Predella for the High Altarpiece of San Domenico, Fiesole – A Sermon for All Saints’ Sunday
The Revd Russell Dewhurst
Sunday 30 October 2016


You can view the two images referred to in the sermon by clicking on these thumbnails.

The Great Reversal
The Revd Russell Dewhurst
Sunday 25 September 2016


The readings today were 1 Timothy 6.6-19 and Luke 16.19-31.

The Birth of the Blessed Virgin Mary – Patronal Festival
The Rt Revd Dr Jo Bailey Wells
Sunday 4 September 2016


Notes: The readings set for our patronal festival were Micah 5:2-4a and John 19:25-27.

A sermon for Pentecost
The Revd Sue Ayling
Sunday 15 May 2016

A sermon to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the re-introduction of Reader ministry in the Church of England
Wendy Varney
Sunday 8 May 2016

A series of three sermons on Easter and the Generosity of God
The Revd Russell Dewhurst
Sunday 17 April 2016


Sunday 24 April 2016


Sunday 1 May 2016

I came that they may have life – Sermon for the Second Sunday of Easter
The Revd Dr Patrick Miller
Sunday 3 April 2016

‘Costly discipleship: counting the cost of reconciliation’ – Fourth in a series on Discipleship
Chris Hancock
Sunday 6th March 2016


Download full text of the sermon.

‘A disciple’s rule of life’ – Third in a series on Discipleship
The Revd Sue Ayling
Sunday 28th February 2016


If you are inspired to think about your rule of life, here is a template and some guidance notes.

‘Being a disciple with others’ – Second in a series on Discipleship
Wendy Varney
Sunday 21st February 2016

‘Truly my disciples’ – First in a series on Discipleship
The Revd Russell Dewhurst
Sunday 14th February 2016


Notes: Read Andrew becoming the first disciple, and Jesus’ vine metaphor. You can subscribe to printed Bible reading notes in church, or download apps to help daily Bible reading at the Bible Reading Fellowship (there are free trials) or the Church of England.

Celebrating Marriage Sermon
The Revd Dr Patrick Miller
Sunday 7th February 2016

Remembrance Sermon
The Revd Dr Patrick Miller
Sunday 8th November 2015

St Mary’s Ewell is registered as a charity under the name of THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF EWELL
Registered Charity No 1128409